Malaysia Air Flight 370. One flight attendants thoughts


The thoughts in this piece are mine. I
can not speak for others.

For all flight attendants, their first and
most important duties are safety.
Safety first. It’s drilled into our heads
from the first day of training and
every day at work. We take safety to
heart. It keeps us vigilant It is so ingrained in us that we protect
the flight deck with the ferociousness
of a lion over their pride. We will put
our lives on the line to stop an
attempted breach of the flight deck.
Every flight attendant, from any airline, that I’ve talked to tells me the
same thing. “Over my dead body is
anyone getting into the flight deck”
This is a relative new way of thinking,
sadly brought on by 911.

The tightness of the flight attendant
community transcends language
barriers. It breaks through lifestyle
choices, religions, age, and cultures.
It bonds us together.

So what goes through our minds
when we hear there is a commercial
plane is missing? Dread. Cold chilling
dread. And sorrow. Deep sorrow.
Tears for our fallen. We don’t think
about ourselves, we think about our comrades. The women and men who
have the same mindset we do. Who
do the same job we do.

We picture them in the aisle and
galleys, doing their jobs. We feel their
emotions as they realize something is
wrong. We feel their terror, when
they realize they and everyone on
the aircraft are going to die, and all their training cannot stop it. We know
they tried, in the end, to comfort the
passengers and then each other. And
yes, we pray. Pray for their families.
For the love ones they left behind. We
wonder if their spouses, children, parents, and siblings know how
much they loved their jobs. Do they
know how much we put at risk every
day, for our passenger’s? We want to
reach out to them, to let them know
their lost love ones are at peace. That we understand.

I tell my children if anything ever
happens to me while I’m working, to
take comfort in the fact that I died
doing what I loved. That my job
brought me hours of joy. That I knew
the risk I took every time I armed my doors. I hope the flight attendants on
Malaysia Air flight 370 told their
families the same thing.

While we wait to hear what
happened to flight 370 we talk
among ourselves, and speculate how
an airliner can vanish. Was it
terrorism? Engine failure? Pilot error?
We know that we will have the answers, no matter how long it takes.
In the meantime, we pray.

Leave a Reply

